Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath - A82 DW01

2015 Under-15

Carnaross 1-9 Oldcastle 1-7

Under-15 Division 6 Final

Played in Trim – 9/11/2015

Carnaross finished off an impressive unbeaten league campaign with a hard earned victory over Oldcastle in a wet and windy Trim.

Carnaross played with the advantage of the strong breeze in the first half but Oldcastle started brightest with two early points in the opening five minutes while Carnaross were guilty of a few early wides. Carnaross settled and a point apiece from the hard working midfield duo of Patrick McDermott and Shane Yore levelled matters before a second point from McDermott gave them the lead midway through the half. Carnaross went on to double their advantage when Darragh O’Reilly finished off a fine move with a well taken point. Oldcastle reduced the margin to a point again but two late points again from Patrick McDermott and Shane Yore gave Carnaross a 0-6 to 0-3 half-time lead.

Carnaross were unlucky not to extend their lead to six after the restart when Darragh O’Reilly’s goal attempt came back off the post. Oldcastle hit back with two points to reduce the margin to a point and were piling on the pressure on the Carnaross defence aided by the strong breeze. They were then awarded a penalty which was well finished to the net to give them a two point lead with twenty minutes remaining. However, the Carnaross response was immediate with Patrick McDermott firing to the net in the next attack to put his side back in front. McDermott added a point from a free with fifteen minutes remaining before the sides were met with a torrential downpour which lasted for the remainder of the game but to their credit both sides battled bravely against the elements. They exchanged two points each in the closing stages with Patrick McDermott and Cormac Yore pointing for Carnaross to ensure they held on to their two point lead for a hard earned victory.

Carnaross: Conor Murphy; Cormac Sheridan, Odhran Farrelly, Sean Carpenter; Patrick Smith, Daniel Roche, Tom Carpenter; Patrick McDermott (1-5), Shane Yore (0-2); Cormac Yore (0-1), Cian McGlynn, Shane O’Reilly; Padraig O’Connor, Darragh O’Reilly (0-1), Patrick Farnan;

Round 1: Carnaross (2-15) St. Cuthbert's (0-4)

Round 2: Slane (3-4) Carnaross (3-12)

Round 3: Carnaross (4-13) Oldcastle (0-10)

Round 4: Nobber (2-0) Carnaross (6-7)

Round 5: Carnaross (6-15) St. Oliver's (3-9)

Round 6: Carnaross (5-22) St. Michael's (4-4)

Round 7: Moynalty (scr) Carnaross (w/o)

Semi-Final: Carnaross (1-12) Slane (0-6)




Our Pitch Sponsors

Thanks to all our sponsors for your continued support